The meaning of the Hadeeth: “I asked of my Rabb three things”

Question: What is the meaning of the Hadeeth of the Prophet (peace and blessings of Allaah be upon him):

I asked of my Rabb, the Glorified and Exalted, three things; He granted me two, but refused me one. I asked my Rabb not to destroy us by that with which He destroyed the nations before us and He granted me this; I asked my Rabb, the Glorified and Exalted, not to make an enemy from outside us triumph over us, and He granted me this; and I asked my Lord not to cover us with confusion (make us break) into warring sects, but He refused me this. ?

Answer: This Hadeeth was reported by Al-Tirmithee who said: it is Hasan Saheeh (good authentic Hadeeth). It was also reported by Al-Nasaa’ee and this is the wording of Al-Nasaa’ee. It was also reported by Muslim on the authority of Thawbaan (may Allaah be pleased with him)… read more here.

Your Feedback!

