Apostasy renders good deeds worthless if no repentance follows

Question: The year before last, I intended to perform Qiran Hajj (combining Hajj and ‘Umrah simultaneously). Once I reached Allaah’s Sacred House, I performed ‘Umrah (lesser pilgrimage) and Tawaaf-ul-Qudum (circumambulation around the Ka‘bah on arrival in Makkah) at the same time. I had never visited the Ka‘bah before then. A day after this, I performed ‘Umrah on behalf of my dead mother. Since I had a lot of time before leaving to Minaa on the Day of Tarwiyah (8th of Dhul-Hijjah), the people whom I stayed with advised me to start Tahalul (removal of the ritual state for Hajj and ‘Umrah) and I did. On going to Mina, I assumed the state of Ihraam (ritual state for Hajj and ‘Umrah) anew and offered two Rak‘ahs (units of Prayer) with the intention of Ihraam for Hajj only in Masjid (mosque of) Tan‘im. I then changed my intention from Qiran Hajj (combining Hajj and ‘Umrah simultaneously) to Tamattu‘ Hajj (combining Hajj and ‘Umrah with a break in between). Is there anything wrong with my Hajj even though I slaughtered a Hady (sacrificial animal offered by pilgrims)? Is the Umrah I performed on behalf of my mother valid or is it impermissible to perform two Umrahs during the same Hajj season? Does any sin a pilgrim may commit after Hajj nullify his Hajj, given that to err is human?

Answer: The Hajj you have offered is Tamattu‘ Hajj (combining Hajj and ‘Umrah with a break in between) and you did well when you removed the ritual state for ‘Umrah… read more here.

Your Feedback!

