Ruling on insulting Allaah’s Being

Question: I am a Muslim lady living in Denmark with my Muslim husband, and we have three children – praise be to Allaah! To maintain my privacy, I will give my name as M.M.M. In a moment of violent anger, I insulted the Being of Allaah, the Most High, the Omnipotent. Since then, my husband has refused to talk to me. He claims that I am an apostate, and that Allaah has nullified my marriage contract; prohibited him from eating meat from any animal I may sacrifice, me from inheriting, anyone from performing the Funeral Prayer for me, my dead body from being washed, shrouded, and buried, and so my body will be left to tempt stray dogs; and my wealth can be plundered by Muslims. I am feeling the deepest regret for what I did, as this is the first time in my life to do such thing. I am cultured and knowledgeable person – praise be to Allaah! – and I know that what I did was detestable. I was advised to write to you concerning my Tawbah (repentance to Allaah). Can I perform Tawbah? And is it permissible for my husband to take me back after what happened, and how should this be done? May Allaah set right your conditions!

Answer: There is no doubt that insulting the Being of Allaah (Glorified be He) is an act of Riddah (apostasy) that takes the one who does it out of the fold of Islaam… read more here.

Your Feedback!

