State of a Muslim dying after deliberately killing a person

Question: Some of my father’s acquaintances told me that he killed some people at a time when stealing and corruption prevailed. My father died while I was young. Since knowing this, I am confused regarding what I should do to make up for what my father did. He died without performing Hajj but I offered it on his behalf. It is worth mentioning that he did not have any children other than me.

What shall I do? Shall I feed a needy person for every victim my father killed? I swear by Allaah that freeing a slave is beyond my means. What shall I do regarding Sawm (fast), which he never observed? May you guide me! May Allaah reward you with the best!

Answer: If a Muslim dies after deliberately killing a person or persons, then he has committed a major sin other than Shirk (associating others with Allaah in His Divinity or worship). He is left to the Will of Allaah Who forgives or tortures him according to His Will… read more here.

Your Feedback!

