Making the Prophet’s grave a place visited daily

Question: Sometimes I am entrusted with certain jobs in Al-Haram al-Nabawee (the Prophet’s Mosque in Madeenah), where I am to carry out my service in front of the fence around the room of the Prophet’s grave. My duty is to prevent visitors from touching and seeking blessings from the Prophet’s grave. Upon entering Al-Haram Al-Nabawee, I usually offer Tahiyyat Al-Masjid (two-unit Prayer to salute the mosque) and then start my work in front of the Prophet’s grave. Before starting my job, I invoke blessings upon the Prophet (peace be upon him) and his two Companions (i.e. Aboo Bakr and `Umar, may Allaah be pleased with them both). One of my colleagues told me that this deed is not permissible and that the Prophet (peace be upon him) has forbidden making his grave a frequently visited place. Therefore, invoking blessings upon the Prophet and his two Companions daily is impermissible. My question is what is the ruling on me doing this? May Allaah grant you success and blessings.

Answer: It is impermissible to make the grave of the Prophet (peace be upon him) a place which people should visit daily, weekly or monthly. This act may involve making his grave a place visited often and regularly which is forbidden… read more here.

Your Feedback!

