Hadeeth: “A man used to do sinful deeds, and when he was about to die, he said to his children, “After my death, burn me, crush me…”

Question: Would you please show the Sanad (chain of narrators) of the following Hadeeth and explain whether it is Saheeh (authentic; that has been transmitted by people known for their uprightness and exactitude; free from eccentricity and blemish) or not? May Allaah reward you! The Prophet (peace be upon him) said,A man used to do sinful deeds, and when he was about to die, he said to his children, “After my death, burn me, crush me, and scatter the ashes into the air. By Allaah! If Allaah has control over me, He will show me such punishment as He has never shown to anyone else.” When he died, his children did accordingly. Allah ordered the earth saying, “Collect what you hold (of his particles).” It did so, and he (the man) was standing. Allaah asked (him), “What made you do what you did?” He replied, “O my Lord! I was afraid of You.” So Allaah forgave him.

Answer: Imaam Al-Bukhaaree related in his Saheeh (authentic) Book of Hadeeth, Chapter on “Fearing of Allaah”: I was told by `Uthmaan ibn Aboo Shaybah that he was told by Jareer from Mansur from Rib`ee on the authority of Huthayfah that the Prophet (peace be upon him) said… read more here.

Your Feedback!

