Fearing Allaah: Best and most honorable ranks of religion

Question: I am a teacher at a primary school. All praise be to Allsah for what He has granted me. I am very happy and comfortable with this honorable work. But what worries me the most is that I believe in Tawheed (Oneness of Allaah) and I try to fear Allaah as much as I can and I hope that I do not do this for Riyaa’ (showing-off ). I fear Allaah and I try my best to do what pleases Him and avoid what incurs His wrath. My greatest concern now is to know what things are considered Shirk (associating others with Allaah in His Divinity or worship) in order to avoid them.

As I have mentioned I am a teacher who is sincere in his work. But when I know that one of the supervisors who oversee the application of the educational program, the educational level of the students and other things related to the department, is coming, I feel great fear that is similar to the fear of a believer who stands before his Lord. I feel that my face turns pale. Do you think that fearing human beings who have no power or might is a kind of Shirk especially that these people do not fear Allaah at all? My brothers, I ask you to guide me to the right way as I fear that this fear may lead me to Shirk. My regret is about to tear me up inside. To clarify further, I try to multiply my efforts when I feel that one of the supervisors is coming. Guide me to the straight path and advise me! May Allaah reward you with the best!

Answer: Fearing Allaah is one of the best ranks of Deen (religion) and one of the comprehensive kinds of `Ibaadah (worship) that Allaah commands human beings to offer for Him Alone. Allaah (Exalted be He) says… read more here.

Your Feedback!

