Istighfaar and Du`aa’ for a person who used to invoke the dead

Question: My Qur’aan teacher and my mother’s great-grandfather died. They used to inscribe Aayaat of the Qur’aan on rings and give them to people. Before their death they urged me to continue reciting the Qur’aan. I continued to do so until my Lord made me understand Tawheed (monotheism) which made me realize that they did something wrong. Can I supplicate to Allaah to have mercy upon them and forgive them? Peace, mercy and blessings of Allaah be upon you!

Answer: Writing Aayaat of the Qur’aan to be worn as amulets is impermissible, as is wearing them for protection, healing, or repelling harm, according to the most correct scholarly opinion… read more here.

Your Feedback!

