Using Zamzam water to treat psychological disorders

Question: I am a Muslim woman in my twenties. I was married about a year and a half ago and thanks to Allaah, I had a baby six months ago delivered naturally. A week after delivery, I began to suffer from severe depression, which had never happened to me before. I lost interest in everything, even taking care of the baby. I went to a psychiatrist and took medication until recently, but it was of no use and I became tired of long treatment.

I ask Allaah that you find an Islaamically approved treatment for my distress and psychological depression, or the best remedy, so that I can return to my normal state and take care of my husband and baby, and be able to manage the affairs of my home. I heard sometime ago the Hadeeth, which states: The water of Zamzam is for whatever it is drunk for. I hope from Allaah, then you, to clarify the meaning of this Hadeeth. Does it apply to my psychological case, or is it only for physical diseases? If Zamzam water is useful, by the Will of Allaah, in treating my case, how can I get it?

Answer: Put your trust in Allaah and expect good from Him. Entrust your affairs to Him and do not despair of His Mercy and Benevolence. There is no disease for which Allaah has not also sent down the cure… read more here.

Your Feedback!

