Seeking treatment from being possessed by jinn at practitioners of Arab medicine

Question: One night, my brother who is fifteen years old, was walking in one of the valleys in the southern desert. He said that he found a strange being that looked like an animal and this animal accompanied him for approximately one kilometer. He felt great fear and his jaws stuck together. This animal kept walking with him for a while to his left, to his right, behind him, and in front of him. He said that he tried many times to perform Thikr (Remembrance of Allaah) but he could not. Moreover, he tried to do anything that might drive this strange thing away from him but he could not. Then, according to him, this being suddenly disappeared. He kept walking until he reached his house. He suffered disorders in his mental and nervous systems for two weeks. Then, he suffered epilepsy and we moved to Al-Dammam. I took him to hospital. Some of my friends told me that my brother was suffering from insanity due to seeing jinn (creatures created from fire) and that the hospital treatment would not cure him. They told me to take him to a diviner. Then, due to my brother’s state, I was obliged to consult someone in Al-Dammam. He claimed that he treats these kinds of illnesses. When we got there, he seated my brother before him and began to pronounce Tahlil (saying, “Laa ilaahaa illaa Allaah [there is no god but Allaah]”) and asked Allaah to bestow peace and blessings upon the Prophet (peace be upon him) in a loud voice. Then he began to mumble words in a low voice so that we could not understand what he said.He put water in a cup and recited Soorah Al-Faatihah and some words that I did not hear. Then, he gave it to the boy to drink. He gave us a certain type of gum to burn as incense to perfume my brother with. We went to this person again and he did the same thing he had done in the previous session. He said that we had to have with him six sessions; one session per week, then he would record his name in order to know if he could treat him or not. He said that he observed the boy while the latter was being perfumed with incense. He also said that he could see other people in Najran, Abha, and other places. Besides, he said that he knew the status of another patient who lives in Kuwait. Moreover, he does not receive money except for what one gives to him. As for the boy, he began to recover with the Will of Allaah (Glorified and Exalted be He). I, all praise be to Allaah, have a firm belief and creed. I have no doubt that Allaah is the only One Who causes harm and brings benefit. Going to this person does not mean that I believe that he will cure my brother. I believe that no one will cure my brother except Allaah (Glorified and Exalted be He) Alone. I would like you to guide me as to what I should do. Can I follow up with this person or not?

Secondly: What is the Sharee`ah (Islaamic law) ruling on this method of treatment used by such a person?

Answer: In case that the reality is what you have mentioned; your brother is thus possessed by Jinn. You have to treat him with Shar`ee (Islaamically lawful) Ruqyah (reciting Qur’aan and saying supplications over the sick seeking healing)... read more here.

Your Feedback!

