Curing the feeling of envy toward others

Question: I sometimes feel hardness in my heart and something like inconspicuous Shirk (associating others with Allaah in His Divinity or worship) or envy, what is the remedy for this? Moreover, I used to invoke Allaah with the Du’aa’ (supplication) that was said by the Prophet (peace be upon him): O Allaah, I seek refuge with You from associating anything with You knowingly, and I seek Your forgiveness for what I know not. I make Du`aa’ to Allaah also to grant forgiveness and mercy to those whom I envy in order to expiate my sins towards them. Is there any other remedy that cures this dangerous malady?

Answer: You have to observe a lot of Thikr (Remembrance of Allaah), recite the glorious Qur’aan, do many supererogatory acts of `Ibaadah (worship) and keep the company of righteous people… read more here.

Your Feedback!

