Performing Ruqyah in return for fees

Question: I preach and guide people in Tabook. I also lead the congregational Salaahs (Prayers) and Jumu`ah (Friday) Prayer in one of the Masjids (mosques) there. I have established in it a library that contains a lot of valuable Sunnah-related books. In the Masjid, I teach Hadeeth, Fiqh (Islaamic jurisprudence), Tawheed (monotheism), and Tafseer (exegesis of the Qur’ean). I also treat the sick by Ruqyah (recitation for healing or protection) as authentically reported from the Messenger of Allaah (peace be upon him) in Saheeh (authentic) Hadeeth, i.e. the Ruqyah formula he used to recite for his family and Sahaabah (Companions) and the Ruqyah that Jibreel (Gabriel, peace be upon him) recited for him. I do not use anything other than what was mentioned in the Hadeeths. Of course you know that Ruqyah is established as authentic and true by the books of Sunnah.

Formulas I mostly use for Ruqyah are those mentioned in the books of the Shaykh of Islaam, such as “Idah Al-Dalaalah fi `Umum Al-Risaalah” and his other well-known books, and also in the books of Ibn Al-Qayyim, such as “Zaad Al-Ma`aad.” I receive a fee for doing this relying on the evidence inferred from the Hadeeth reported in the Two Saheeh Books of Hadeeth (i.e. Al-Bukhaaree and Muslim) on the authority of Aboo Sa`eed Al-Khudree that supports the permissibility of reciting Ruqyah and receiving a payment in return for it. The Hadeeth, of course, is well known to Your Eminence.

What makes me receive a payment is to be spared the embarrassment of begging from people, for I am a blind man and I have straitened family circumstances. Besides, I was not fortunate enough to get a job. I know that doing so is Islaamically permissible and lawful. However, some ignorant people groundlessly objected to my doing so. Therefore, I hope, relying on Allaah, that Your Eminence will issue a Fatwaa highlighting the necessary points so that I can be enlightened and be more convincing to those who object, in ignorance, to my taking a fee. If you see that what I am doing is wrong, please give me a convincing advice, for I oppose none of your opinions.

Answer: If the reality is as you mentioned – that you treat the sick with lawful Ruqyah, using only the formulas authentically reported from the Prophet (peace be upon him), and that you keenly refer to what the eminent scholar Ibn Taymiyyah (may Allaah be merciful to him) recorded in his well-known books… read more here.

Your Feedback!

