A custom that a man begins to observe Sawm only after having circumcision

Question: I was circumcised twenty-three years ago. There was a belief when I ignored Sharee`ah (Islamic law) rulings that a man should not observe Sawm (Fast) until he is circumcised and that a girl should not observe Sawm until she has menses. During that period, Ramadaan came once when I was more than fifteen years. However, I had been circumcised and was still recovering from the surgery so I could not observe Sawm the entire Ramadaan. I should mention that I did not observe Sawm of Ramadaan before that time.

Your Eminence Shaykh, have I to make up for the previous missed days of Sawm or feed the poor? It should be known that I was ignorant of Sharee`ah rulings.

Answer: If the case is as you mentioned that you had reached the age of fifteen and had not observed Sawm because of the prevalent ignorance of Sharee`ah rulings thinking that a man should not observe Sawm until he is circumcised, and that after your circumcision you were recovering from surgery and did not complete the Sawm of Ramadaan, it is Waajib (obligatory) on you to make up for the missed days in Ramadaan after reaching puberty… read more here.

Your Feedback!

