Breaking Sawm in Ramadaan for a Shar`ee excuse and breaking its compensatory Sawm before Thuhr Salaah due to ignorance

Question: I broke my Sawm (Fast) during Ramadaan for a Shar`ee (Islaamically lawful) excuse. When I was making up for that day, I broke my Sawm again before the Thuhr (noon) Prayer as I was ignorant about the ruling. What should I do in such a case? And is there any Kaffaarah (expiation) due?

Answer: You have to make up for the day which you failed to complete while observing Sawm. If you delay making up for it until the next Ramadaan without a Shar`ee excuse, you have to feed a needy person an amount of half a Saa` (1 Saa` = 3 kg. Approx.) of the staple food of your country, along with making up for it… read more here.

Your Feedback!

