Having menstruation every month is no excuse for not observing expiatory Sawm

Question: I broke my Swam (Fast) in a day in Ramadaan when my husband had sexual intercourse with me with my approval. I made up for this day. Please give me a Fatwaa (legal opinion issued by a qualified Muslim scholar), because I am confused. I cannot observe Sawm two successive months and my health is not so good. Moreover, I have menstruation every month. Please answer me. May Allaah reward you with the best.

Answer: Having sexual intercourse during the daytime in Ramadaan invalidates Sawm and requires the expiation in addition to making up for that day. The expiation incumbent upon each of you is to emancipate a Muslim slave… read more here.

Your Feedback!

