Does relinquishing the Diyah of the father make up for the expiation of having sex in the daytime in Ramadaan?

Question: I married a woman other than my present wife and the marriage took place in the month of Ramadan. I was a teenager at that time. However, I slept with my first wife on two days in the blessed month, repented to Allaah (Exalted be He), and completed my Swam (Fast). This took place ten years ago and I am still concerned about it after I knew that there is a specific expiation for that. Then, three or four years later, my father (may Allaah confer mercy upon him) died in a car accident and I pardoned the one who did it, because he was driving while my father (may Allaah be merciful to him) was walking along the side of the road. Does my pardoning make up for the expiation as I did so for the sake of Allaah or how can I atone for my wrongdoing? May Allaah reward you all the good and support Islaam and Muslims by you.

Answer: If the case is as you mentioned, it is obligatory on both you and your wife to offer expiation for having sexual intercourse during the daytime in Ramadaan. It is to emancipate a believing slave. If this is impossible, it is to fast two successive months… read more here.

Your Feedback!

