Returning home from a journey, breaking one’s fast, and having sexual intercourse

Question: I traveled to a place that was 240 kilometers away and I broke my fast. On the second day, I had sexual intercourse with my wife and stayed with my relatives for three days while I had the intention to travel at anytime during these three days and I broke my fast. I hope you will illustrate the ruling on having sexual intercourse during the daytime in Ramadaan, taking into consideration that my intention was to travel to another place 250 kilometers away -from Saudi Arabia to Syria because I traveled to the Levant (the region covering Syria, Lebanon, Jordan, and Palestine) to receive medication. I returned home with the intention of fasting but I had sexual intercourse and broke my fast on another day. Hence, I have broken my fast for two days. May Allaah protect you.

Answer: No Kaffaarah (expiation) is required for having had sexual intercourse while travelling, since it is permissible for someone on a journey to break his fast by copulation and such permissible things but it is obligatory to make up for the day he broke fast. Allaah (Exalted be He) says: …and whoever is ill or on a journey, the same number [of days which one did not observe Saum (fasts) must be made up] from other days. … read more here.

Your Feedback!

