Having sexual intercourse without ejaculation in the daytime in Ramadaan entails Kaffaarah

Question: I am a young man that married just before Ramadaan. At the beginning of Ramadaan, I had sexual intercourse with my wife out of mutual desire during the daytime. However, I did not ejaculate thinking that we would be liable for Kaffaarah (expiation) if I ejaculate. The following Ramadaan, we did the same although my wife was not willing to do so as she doubted that we were liable for Kaffaarah for doing so.

However, I ejaculated that time. In fact, I do not know whether Kaffaarah is necessary for the former or the latter Ramadaan. Note that I am now about to feed sixty poor persons: How much money should my wife and I pay for feeding sixty poor persons for the two months? It would be better if you give us an address (of a charitable organization) to which we can send the money of the Kaffaarah. Please give us a Fatwaa on this regard. May Allaah reward you with the best and grant you success!

Answer: If the reality is as you mentioned, you are both liable for Kaffaarah in addition to making up for the first day on which you broke your fast, as well as repentance and asking Allaah (Exalted be He) to forgive the sin you committed… read more here.

Your Feedback!

