Having sexual intercourse with the wife during Ramadaan assuming that dawn has not broken yet

Question: Three years ago, I had sexual intercourse with my wife during one Ramadaan night. On finishing, it turned out that dawn had broken and thatthe time to start Sawm (Fast) had passed half an hour before. I then proceeded to ask one Shaykh who advised me to feed 60 poor people. Therefore, I prepared a charity food for this purpose but could not feed the complete number of sixty poor people. Should my wife and I feed sixty poor people collectively or individually? If it is unfeasible to feed 60 poor people in total, how much should we pay approximately, instead and how and where should we pay it?

Please, bear in mind that I have been feeling guilty about having done so ever since, especially during the blessed month of Ramadaan.

Answer: It is obligatory on the one who had sexual intercourse with his wife during the daytime of Ramadaan to repent, ask Allaah for forgiveness, and pay Kaffaarah (expiation) in addition to making up for the day on which sexual intercourse took place… read more here.

Your Feedback!

