Rinsing one’s mouth while observing Sawm

Question: One night in Ramadaan, I woke up to have my Suhoor (pre-dawn meal before the Fast) and after finishing it, I had a flavored drink. As the dawn had not yet come, I said I would wait for a while then go to the Masjid (mosque) to offer Salaah (Prayer), intending to clean my mouth in the Masjid preparing for Sawm (Fast) before the Athaan (call to Prayer) was pronounced. However, while still waiting, I overslept and only woke up after the Fajr (Dawn) Prayer was due. When I woke up, I found the taste of the flavored drink was still in my throat, so I spat it out and then washed my mouth; is my Sawm on this day valid? If not, what should I do?

Answer: Having the remains of food in between the teeth after the break of dawn falls under either one of two cases:

1- If there is only a small amount of food remaining in the mouth that cannot be spat, it does not affect the validity of the Sawm, even if it reached the person’s throat, for this is unavoidable… read more here.

Your Feedback!

