Feeding a needy person for each missed day of Sawm

Question: During last Ramadaan, I was ill in the Military Hospital in Riyadh, as I suffered from pain on Friday, 29th of Sha`baan and I spent the night in the heart center. Then, the doctors decided to perform a surgery on three arteries. Moreover, they advised me not to perform Sawm (Fast), as it would negatively affect my health because I suffer from hypertension, diabetes and asthma, according to the attached medical reports. Thus, I was prevented from performing this Fareedah (obligatory act).

In Muharram, 1420 A.H., I suffered from chest and liver diseases, resulting in me staying in the Military Hospital. After a checkup, I was given intense treatment, which the doctors advised me to take three times daily for nine months starting from 12 Safar, 1420 A.H.

Your Eminence Muftee (Muslim scholar qualified to issue legal opinions), I am seventy years old, and I am confused concerning how to make up for the days in which I broke my Sawm during the blessed Ramadaan, 1419 A.H. Thus,I hope you will give me your legal opinion concerning making up for these days.

Answer:  If you are not able to make up for the missed days of Sawm permanently, you should feed a Miskeen (needy) for each day an amount of 1.5 kg (of staple food). You are not obliged to perform Sawm. Allaah (Exalted be He) says: And as for those who can fast with difficulty, (e.g. an old man), they have (a choice either to fast or) to feed a Miskeen (poor person) (for every day). In this Aayah (Qur’aanic verse), the ruling on the person who can observe Sawm is abrogated, based on Allaah’s Saying... read more here.

Your Feedback!

