Taking medicine in the daytime of Ramadaan

Question: I have been suffering from depression and psychological disturbance for more than thirteen years, and I use some sedatives, but the number of tablets that I take have now reached 10 tablets per night, in addition to the medicine that I take for diabetes and the electro-convulsive therapy because my body has gained immunity against the medicine. I sleep about two hours only every night after taking the tablets, then I spend the rest of the night suffering from sleeplessness and psychological instability.

And now as Ramadaan is approaching, the time of taking the medicine will change and I will encounter a lot of suffering like last year, as I underwent a lot of exhaustion and fatigue by observing Sawm (Fast). Some scholarly students have told me not to observe Sawm and to feed poor people instead, and now I am not able to do without sleeping and having rest. I beg Your Eminence to direct me to the right way, and I hope that your answer be written on paper so as to be evidence that I can show to my sons or anybody who may suspect my attitude. May Allaah guard you and reward you with the best.

Answer: If the case is as you mentioned, and you are unable to fast because you need to take the medicine during the daytime, and the illness you have continues throughout the whole year, it is permissible for you not to observe Sawm and you must feed one Miskeen (needy) for each day an amount of half a Saa` (1 Saa` = 3 kg. Approx.) from the country’s staple food such as rice… read more here.

Your Feedback!

