Allaah permits a patient who cannot fast to break fast during Ramadaan

Question: I am a 29-year-old man. I suffer from chronic renal failure and I must have dialysis three times per week. During Ramadaan, I would fast a day and not fast the next. I thus broke my fast on 12 days during the Ramadaan of 1415 A.H. I made up for five days, and there remains seven days.

Is there any atonement due on me for the remaining days? What should I do in Ramadaan of the current year, taking into consideration that my condition will be the same as last Ramadaan – that is, fasting a day and breaking the fasting on the next day?

Answer: Allaah (Exalted be He) has permitted those who are ill and unable to fast to break fast in Ramadaan. You need not do anything regarding the days in which you break your fast except making up for them. You should make up for these seven days when you are able. The same applies to the days of fast missed from the second Ramadaan of 1416 A.H. This is based on the general ruling in the Saying of Allaah: …and whoever is ill or on a journey, the same number [of days which one did not observe Sawm (fasts) must be made up] from other days… read more here.

Your Feedback!

