Sawm of elderly heart patients

Question: I would like to inform you that I am an old man, about eighty years old. I am a heart patient and I take tranquilizers three times a day according to the recommendations of the doctor. I have never stopped taking such pills. The blessed Ramadaan has come and it might be difficult for me to perform Sawm (Fast). I hope that you will inform me urgently with your legal opinion, as I fear Allaah (Glorified and Exalted be He). May Allaah grant you success to what pleases Him, and safeguard you.

Answer: If the reality is as the questioner mentioned, he is permitted to break his Sawm to take the prescribed drugs, and then perform compensatory Sawm whenever he is able to do so… read more here.

Your Feedback!

