Offering Sawm on the part of a kidney patient

Question: In the year 1409 A.H., it was Allaah’s (Glorified be He) destiny that I was afflicted with renal failure, which made me break my Sawm (Fast) three days in Ramadaan. Three months later, I underwent a surgical operation for a kidney transplant. The operation was successful, thanks to Allaah (Glorified and Exalted be He). In the year 1410 A.H., (i.e. after the kidney transplant) the doctors advised me not to observe Sawm due to my need to drink large amounts of water and some medicines. After that, I suffered from blood pressure, i.e. in the year 1411 A.H. Yet, I have managed to observe Sawm in Ramadaan till now, praise be to Allaah, but until now I have not made up for the month of Ramadaan or the three days I did not observe Sawm.

– Is there Kaffaarah (expiation) due on me for the previous months of Ramadaan?
– Is it permissible to give the total sum to just one person?
– Is it permissible to give it in the form of money? If so, how much is it?

Answer: It is obligatory on you to observe Sawm the days you failed to observe, once you are able to do so, since this is an obligation that you owe. You should both feed a poor person half a Saa` (1 Saa` = 3 kg. Approx.) as Kaffaarah for each day and make up for these days. You should feed a poor person for each day of Sawm you missed, because you delayed making up for it despite your ability to do. It is up to you whether you give the whole Kaffaarah to one poor person or more… read more here.

Your Feedback!

