Does the discharge of a drop of blood while taking pills affect the validity of Sawm and `Umrah?

Question: Because I was planning to go to Makkah, I took contraceptive pills in order to delay the coming of my regular menstrual period. Since my period was due on 22/9/1420 A.H., I took the pills two weeks before that date. On 20/9/1420 A.H, I noticed a small brownish blood drop, which thence continued to fall once every day until I stopped taking the pills on the second day of `Eed-ul-Fitr (the Feast of Breaking the Fast), yet I continued to observe Sawm (Fast) during Ramadaan. Two days later, I had my actual menstrual period.

My question is: Is my observance of Sawm during Ramadaan as mentioned above valid? I also fasted six days after `Eed-ul-Fitr; can these days compensate for the missed days of Sawm in Ramadaan? If those intermittent blood drops I used to notice was not menstrual, is my Sawm in the six days valid for the recommended Sawm during the month of Shawwal?

Note: I was ritually pure when embarking on with the intention of making `Umrah (lesser pilgrimage) at the Meeqaat (one of the specified destinations for entering into the ritual state for making Hajj or `Umrah). In fact, I noticed the brownish blood drop referred to in my question only after finishing all the rites of `Umrah. Is my `Umrah valid in this case, or was it invalidated because of such discharge? Give me a Fatwaa, may Allaah reward you with the best!

Answer: If the case is as you have mentioned, your observance of Sawm during Ramadaan is valid and this discharge does not affect the validity of your acts of worship such as Sawm, Salaah (Prayer), and the like. Accordingly, you do not have to make up for the days of Ramadaan… read more here.

Your Feedback!

