Observing Sawm while discharging Kudrah without blood due to taking pills

Question: In Ramadaan of the years 1416 and 1417 A.H., I took pills to stop the menstrual period. But I noticed that after approximately ten days, there were Kudrah (dusky-colored vaginal discharge during or after menstruation) and Sufrah (yellow vaginal discharge during or after menstruation) fluids still being emitted. The discharge was sometimes light brown, sometimes yellow, and sometimes tended to be black in color. But I fasted because the menstrual bleeding did not occur until the night of `Eed Al-Fitr (the Festival of Breaking the Fast). Was my Sawm (Fast) in these days valid? If it was not valid, what should I do, bearing in mind that I did not count the number of days of Sawm I might have missed? I strove hard to count them but I failed. Should I offer Kaffaarah (expiation) instead? Please give me a Fatwaa on this question. May Allaah reward you and benefit others through your knowledge.

Answer: If Kudrah and Sufrah were emitted on days outside those of your menstrual period, then these secretions are not of your menstruation, and a woman in this situation may normally offer Prayer and observe Sawm… read more here.

Your Feedback!

