Is it obligatory to take Ghusl (ritual bath) after masturbating, or is Wudoo’ sufficient?

Question 36: I used to masturbate during the daytime in Ramadaan when I was fourteen and fifteen years old. I do not remember how many days I did this. I was not aware then that this is Haraam (prohibited), whether in Ramadaan or at any other time. I even did not know that this is called the secret habit (masturbation). I would then perform Wudoo’ (ablution) and offer Salaah (Prayer) without Ghusl (full ritual bath) following major ritual impurity. What is the religious ruling on my Salaah and Sawm (Fasting) during such circumstances? Do I have to repeat them, taking into consideration that I do not know how many days I practiced this act? What should I do?

Answer: Firstly, practicing masturbation is Haraam (prohibited) and is even more sinful during the daytime in Ramadaan. Secondly, you must make up for the days on which you spoiled your Sawm by masturbation, because masturbation invalidates Sawm… read more here.

Your Feedback!

